THE TREASURES OF GRAJSKA PRISTAVA, THE ORMOŽ CASTLE AND THE VELIKA NEDELJA CASTLE
Grajski trg 1, 2270 Ormož
Tel.: +386 (0)2 741 72 90
Under the fold of the Pokrajinski muzej Ptuj-Ormož (The Regional Museum of Ptuj-Ormož), the biggest regional museum in Slovenia, there is a museum subsidiary also in Ormož. It is located in the castle Grajska pristava and the Ormož castle. It boasts numerous exhibitions, for example exhibitions of medieval sculptures from the region of Ormož, archeological exhibitions, an exhibition called From the Legacy of dr. Ormar Majerič, a collection of Marko Sluga and interesting wall paintings. The wealth of our ethnological tradition can be seen in the ethnological collection in the Velika Nedelja castle.
THE RAILWAY LEGACY COLLECTION, “MUZEJ NA STANICI”
Osluševci 48, 2273 Podgorci
Tel.: +386 (0)2 41 526 517
The society for preservation of legacy Prleški železničar boasts a carefully renovated carriage from the year 1926, in which there is exhibited a collection of object, connected with the railway. The carriage is rearranged into a small train station, having a ticket window, a waiting room, a traffic office and a warehouse.
OILMILL SREDIŠČE OB DRAVI JERUZALEM ORMOŽ SAT, D.D.
Ljutomerska c. 4, 2277 Središče ob Dravi
Tel.: +386 (0)2 713 48 52
This is the leading producer of pumpkin oil in Slovenia, without which Slovenes cannot imagine a delicious salad. The visitors can taste various oils, bread spreads made of oil or pumpkin seeds and even sweets made of pumpkin flour. They can also learn how the oil is produced and how the specialties are prepared. The companies pumpkin oil is numbered among the protected farm products i.e. food with geographical indication. They are also the holders of the collective trademark Jeruzalem Slovenija.
TEMNAR MANOR, Hermanci
Vuzmetinci 33a, 2257 Miklavž pri Ormožu
Tel.: +386 (0)31 692 253
The Temnar manor served as a shooting manor to the lords of Ptuj. Today you can walk through the beautiful baroque halls, ring the bell of wishes in the house chapel and continue your way past the huge wooden press into the cellar, where you can among the mighty barrels taste excellent wines.
Vineyard Cottage Malek
Svetinje 22, 2259 Ivanjkovci
Tel.: Tel.: +386 (0)2 741 77 76
The charming Zidanica Malek is located between Svetinje and Jeruzalem in the middle of the most beautiful vineyard terraces. The more than 350-year old building used to be a majestic edifice, where grapes were pressed into wine, which is attested to by the giant wine press, the unique chapel inside the building and the wonderful large cellar. Nowadays you can taste there excellent wines, visit the small museum about winemaking and the old cellar, which hides behind its thick walls a treasure throve of archived wines.
Košarkina hiša na Kogu
Kog 4, 2276 Kog
Tel.: +386 (0)41 739 190
On Kog various events take place, which intertwine tradition and modernity, while also addressing tourists. The hamlet, which borders on Croatia, was during the World War II and during the War of independence in 1991 a target of attacking armies. Some of the history of the village and its surroundings is also presented in the wonderfully renovated countryside mansion - Košarkina hiša, which is located in the centre of the hamlet. Together with the church and the old school it represents the wonderful veduta of Kog. Košarkina hiša boasts a rich history, dedicated inhabitants and societies take care that the house and the village remain alive and tidy.
THE FIREBRIGADE MUSEUM, Miklavž pri Ormožu
Miklavž pri Ormožu 30, 2275 Miklavž pri Ormožu
Tel.: +386 (0)41 388 059
The museum showcases the history of Miklavž and the history of the local fire brigade. The exhibition consists of the largest collection of fire engines in Štajerska. Especially noteworthy is a handheld fire engine form the year 1888. Exhibited are also fire brigade uniforms, especially the original uniform from 1921, when the fire brigade was established. The museum also showcases headgear and helmets from the time of Austria-Hungary until the present.
Velika Nedelja 9, 2274 Velika Nedelja
Tel.: +386 (0)2 741 72 90
From afar you can see the interesting, centuries-old buildings dominating their surroundings. The mighty castle with its four defensive towers and the beautiful church are a sight worth seeing. The appearance of the place was characterized by the Teutonic Order of Knights, which has been present in these lands for more than 750 years. The legend tells us - and what would our land be without legends? - that the castle received its name from a battle which happened on Easter Sunday (Velika nedelja in Slovene means Easter Sunday). On the request of Frederic II of Ptuj, the Teutonic Order came in 1199 into the then still uninhabited land and conquered it from the thieving Ogres. The first victory is said to be achieved here and after the battle ended, Frederic drove the pole with the flag of the Teutonic Order into the blood-soaked ground and said: “On this Easter Sunday this place was conquered and this place shall carry the name of this day henceforth. The Teutonic knights shall from this day on defend it and keep it safe.”
THE CELLAR KLET ORMOŽ
Kolodvorska 11, 2270 Ormož
Tel.: +386 (0)2 741 57 25
Visiting the wine cellar built in 1967, which is now owned by the family Puklavec, is a real experience, as it intertwines the past and the present. It is built in the form of a tower and dug into the ground between two terraces of the river Drava. It has seven floors, five of them being underground. The floors are reached by a staircase with 174 colorful stairs, leading us 25 m deep. The cellar also boasts a shop, a tasting hall and an archive cellar.
THE LAGOONS OF ORMOŽ
Frankovci, 2270 Ormož
Tel.: +386 (0)31 395 314
The lagoons are a nature reserve and a wetland of invaluable national and international importance because of the numerous endangered species of birds residing there. Here you will find peace and quiet and also beautiful views through your camera or through binoculars, placed on observatories. Beside the birds the reserve also has buffalos, which roam free and graze along the river banks. This is a paradise for ornithologists, nature lovers, lovers of peace, hikers and cyclist. Here you will also find well-kept riding paths. The reserve is managed by DOPPS - BirdLife Slovenia.
THE HOME OF DR. STANKO CAJNKAR
Savci 65, 2258 Sveti Tomaž
Tel.: +386 (0)2 719 50 64
Go to Savce to the renovated homestead of our important fellow countryman dr. Stanko Cajnkar. He was the firstborn in a family of eleven children and it is interesting to see a house, where such a numerous family lived. In the house you can see the memorial room and also a renovated wood-fired oven, where the locals bake tasty local delicacies like postrežnjača and pogača.
Koračice 57, 2258 Sveti Tomaž
Tel.: +386 (0)41 396 508
The locals are proud of the renovated “cimprača” and the cellar museum Klet muzej Brumec. The latter is a more than 255 old cellar, attested by the number 1757 engraved above the entrance door. Cimprača is a building made of wooden logs. Its roofing is held together with wooden pegs and it is covered by hay. The small windows are decorated with iron crosses and the floor is made of clay, old bricks and wooden boards. The Brumens have been the owners of cimprača for three generations. Experts placed the buildings among the 17 most successfully renovated buildings of cultural heritage in Slovenia.
The Church of the Sad Mother of God JERUZALEM
Jeruzalem 9, 2259 Ivanjkovci
Tel.: +386 (0)2 719 45 45
Jeruzalem is a small place with a big name. It is located 341 m above the sea level, among rolling hills, covered with vineyards. According to a legend, it was given its name by famous crusaders who stopped here on their way into the Holy Lands. Probably they chose the name because they found the region heavenly beautiful. Another legend states, that an image of the Sad Mother of God was brought into the chapel in Jeruzalem, perhaps by one of the afore mentioned crusaders, who placed it there in thanks for surviving the 3rd Crusade at the end of the 12th century.
Grajski trg 3
Tel.: 02 741 53 56
The town of Ormož, a chessboard of town houses, lies above the surface of the Drava river on the natural terrace shaped by the river for millions of years. Like the king and queen, the nearby castle and the church boldly dictate the game on a slight slope. The town was already inhabited around 2100 BC. As the crossing of the river was the easiest here and the route wide open to all sides, it was a crossroad of important traffic routes. It is this location that has shaped the rich and turbulent history of Ormož. Evidence thereof are archaeological finds and records kept by different institutions, most of them by the Ptuj-Ormož Regional Museum. In the late Bronze Age, Ormož surpassed all neighbouring localities in importance, size and unique urban design. At the time, Ormož was one of the largest settlements of the Eastern Alps. Archaeological remains testify to the building technology, residential and even culinary and drinking culture of the townspeople. A settlement was built in the early Middle Ages. In the second half of the 13th century, when the nobility of Ptuj build a tower, it turned into a trading centre and soon after into an urban settlement of craftsmen and traders. The town of Ormož was first mentioned with the name Holermuos in documents dating back to 1273. This was a time of battles for the eastern border between the Hungarian kings and the Salzburg archdiocese. Due to its strategic importance, the town attained trading rights in 1293 and town rights in 1331. Ptuj's Lord Friderik V. built a fortified castle in 1287 and named it Friedau to defend the border from the Hungarians. Later on, this name was passed on to the whole town. However, the name Holermuos was not forgotten and was still used in documents during the centuries to follow. The name of the town changed to the current name of Ormož through phonetic transition. The town privileges also allowed townsfolk to organize annual fairs. This tradition has been preserved to this day: St. Jakob Fair still takes place on the first Monday after St. Jakob's Sunday, the Flower Fair on Flower Friday and St. Martin Fair on November 11th, St. Martin's Day. After 1945, the town of Ormož was mainly marked by winery and agriculture, sugar production, the Brickyard Ormož and the development of small businesses. A ceremonial opening of the Ormož Wine Cellar took place in 1967, and the Ormož Sugar Factory started its test run in 1976. The War of Independence in 1991 also left its mark on Ormož and its surroundings. The town was one of the strategically most important battlefields between the Yugoslav People's Army based in nearby Varaždin and the Slovenian Territorial Defence. The Slovenian Territorial Defence prevented the attackers from entering the town with great sacrifice, blocking the roads and the bridge over the Drava river and preventing the enemy army entering into the territory of Slovenia. The castle tower was also damaged at the time. Careful architectural interventions made it possible for Ormož to preserve its original appearance and charm. The Ptuj-Ormož Regional Museum's collections can give visitors a better understanding of the importance of Ormož and its surroundings in the past millennia. They are located behind the walls of the Ormož Castle and the restored Grajska pristava. To fully experience the town, you have to visit the Church of St. Jakob, stroll around the town's streets and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the Castle Park with its rare tree species. In the summer heat, you will perhaps feel tempted to freshen up in the Ormož swimming pool complex on the edge of the Castle Park?!